Home / GU oncology / Prostate / nmCRPC

Prostate → nmCRPC

Last reviewed: 2026-09-22 · Next review: 2026-12-21

current — three placebo-controlled phase 3 trials support androgen-receptor pathway inhibition with continued ADT in the conventional-imaging, high-risk population

Evidence page

Who this applies to

Pivotal-trial eligibility and decision boundary

TrialEligible populationKey imaging and clinical boundaryOutside direct pivotal evidence
PROSPERCastration-resistant adenocarcinoma, PSADT ≤10 months, continued ADT1CT/MRI and radionuclide bone scan without metastases; seizure history or predisposition was excluded1.PSADT >10 months, prior or current conventional-imaging metastases, or seizure-risk population1.
SPARTANPSADT ≤10 months, continued ADT3Technetium bone scan and CT without distant metastases; pelvic N1 nodes <2 cm below the aortic bifurcation were allowed3.Conventional-imaging distant metastases or disease outside the trial definition3.
ARAMISPSADT ≤10 months, PSA ≥2 ng/mL, ECOG 0–1, continued ADT5CT/MRI and radionuclide bone scan without detectable or prior metastases; pelvic nodes <2 cm below the aortic bifurcation were allowed5.ECOG status outside the study population, conventional-imaging metastases, or disease outside the trial definition5.
  • PSMA-PET-only disease, PSA doubling time >10 months, and failure to meet the castration definition lack direct pivotal-trial efficacy estimates1357.
  • Confirm castrate testosterone, PSA kinetics, conventional imaging, prior androgen-receptor pathway inhibitor exposure, falls/fracture risk, blood pressure, cognition, cardiovascular comorbidity, and patient priorities before selecting treatment1011.

Standard options

Clinical groupOptionEvidence boundaryTypical course
High-risk nmCRPC within a pivotal-trial populationEnzalutamide plus continued ADT1PROSPER used conventional-imaging nonmetastatic disease and PSADT ≤10 months1.Enzalutamide 160 mg orally daily with continued ADT; duration in the source pack is not stated1.
High-risk nmCRPC within a pivotal-trial populationApalutamide plus continued ADT3SPARTAN used conventional-imaging nonmetastatic disease and PSADT ≤10 months3.Apalutamide 240 mg orally daily with continued ADT; duration in the source pack is not stated3.
High-risk nmCRPC within a pivotal-trial populationDarolutamide plus continued ADT5ARAMIS used conventional-imaging nonmetastatic disease and PSADT ≤10 months5.Darolutamide 600 mg orally twice daily with food and continued ADT; duration in the source pack is not stated5.
Outside the direct pivotal population or unable to use an ARPIIndividualized surveillance, supportive management, or clinical-trial evaluation10Do not extrapolate the three phase 3 efficacy estimates to this group135.Individualized10.

The pivotal trials do not provide a head-to-head comparison or ranking of apalutamide, darolutamide, and enzalutamide135.

Therapy sequencing

Disease stateTreatment orderEvidence boundary
High-risk nmCRPC on conventional imagingContinue ADT → add one of enzalutamide, apalutamide, or darolutamide135.The pivotal trials do not compare the agents head-to-head and require PSADT ≤10 months with conventional-imaging M0 disease135.
PSMA-PET-only disease or PSADT >10 monthsIndividualize surveillance, staging, or trial evaluation710.Direct phase 3 treatment-selection evidence is absent for these states135.
Conventional-imaging metastasis or progression while castrateContinue ADT and transition to the mCRPC pathway with prior ARPI exposure documented10.Do not presume sequential ARPI benefit from these trials135.

Surveillance and treatment de-escalation

SettingPSAImagingStop/de-escalateRe-escalate
On ADT plus ARPI135Every 3 months; testosterone to confirm castration; track PSADT for risk context1011.Conventional CT and bone scan every 6–12 months per EAU/NCCN risk-adapted frameworks1011.Continue ADT plus the selected ARPI until conventional-imaging metastasis, unacceptable toxicity, or shared decision to stop. Pivotal trials did not define a fixed treatment-stop duration. Hold ARPI for grade ≥3 toxicity; do not stop ADT at M0 progression on PET alone outside trial criteria13510.Conventional-imaging metastasis while castrate → mCRPC pathway; document prior ARPI agent and duration10.
Surveillance-only (outside pivotal population)10Every 3 months; continue PSADT assessment1011.Imaging per PSADT and clinical concern1011.No ARPI if PSADT >10 months or PSMA-PET-only disease without conventional metastasis—individualize1710.Rising PSA with new conventional metastases → mCRPC sequencing10.
  • PSMA-PET-only disease lacks direct pivotal-trial efficacy estimates; do not use PET alone to stop ADT or ARPI without conventional-imaging confirmation when clinically appropriate710.

Landmark evidence

The phase 3 studies were placebo-controlled, conventional-imaging nmCRPC trials. The final OS time points differ—median OS in PROSPER and SPARTAN versus 3-year OS in ARAMIS—and must not be compared across trials123456.

TrialPopulationInterventionComparatorPrimary endpointClinically meaningful outcomesGeneralizability-critical differences
PROSPER, N=1,401PSADT ≤10 months, continued ADT, CT/MRI plus bone scan without metastases1Enzalutamide 160 mg daily + ADT (n=933)1Placebo + ADT (n=468)1Metastasis-free survival1MFS 36.6 vs 14.7 months; HR 0.29 (95% CI 0.24–0.35). Final OS: median 67.0 vs 56.3 months; HR 0.73 (0.61–0.89)12.Prior/current metastases and seizure history or predisposition were excluded1.
SPARTAN, N=1,207PSADT ≤10 months, continued ADT, conventional-imaging nonmetastatic disease3Apalutamide 240 mg daily + ADT (n=806)3Placebo + ADT (n=401)3Metastasis-free survival3MFS 40.5 vs 16.2 months; HR 0.28 (0.23–0.35). Final OS: median 73.9 vs 59.9 months; HR 0.78 (0.64–0.96)34.Pelvic N1 nodes <2 cm were allowed; distant metastases were excluded3.
ARAMIS, N=1,509PSADT ≤10 months, PSA ≥2 ng/mL, ECOG 0–1, continued ADT, conventional-imaging nonmetastatic disease5Darolutamide 600 mg twice daily with food + ADT (n=955)5Placebo + ADT (n=554)5Metastasis-free survival5MFS 40.4 vs 18.4 months; HR 0.41 (0.34–0.50). Final OS: 3-year OS 83% vs 77%; HR 0.69 (0.53–0.88)56.Pelvic nodes <2 cm were allowed; seizure history was permitted5.

Biomarkers

MarkerCurrent clinic roleEmerging / investigationalHow it changes decision nowLimits
PSA doubling timeTrial risk-enrichment and eligibility factor135—A PSADT ≤10 months defined the pivotal-trial population for ARPI with continued ADT135.Not an agent-selecting biomarker among enzalutamide, apalutamide, and darolutamide135.
Conventional imaging M0 definitionDisease-state classification boundary135—Phase 3 evidence used conventional CT/MRI and bone imaging to define nonmetastatic disease eligible for treatment135.Pelvic N1 nodes <2 cm were allowed in SPARTAN/ARAMIS; distant metastases exclude this setting35.
PSMA PETStaging information7Prospective treatment-guidance studies (e.g., PSMACare)8May find occult M1 disease despite negative conventional imaging; does not by itself select among the three ARPIs78.In one retrospective 200-patient high-risk cohort, PSMA PET found M1 disease in 55% despite negative conventional imaging; prospective treatment-guidance value remains unestablished7.
Molecular testingNo validated treatment selector among the three ARPIs135Broader panels for later-line planning after progression10Does not choose enzalutamide vs apalutamide vs darolutamide on this page135.Pivotal eligibility texts did not report molecular enrollment criteria that select among the three agents135.

Upcoming research

Field direction: PSMA-directed approaches in conventional-imaging M0 / PET-positive CRPC and real-world ARPI delivery data may refine nmCRPC counseling, but do not yet replace the three ARPI phase 3 standards8910.

No new practice-changing randomized result was identified in the source pack10.

Trial or publicationWhy it may change careEvidence status
PSMACare, NCT05849298Tests lutetium-177 vipivotide tetraxetan alone or with an androgen-receptor pathway inhibitor in PSMA-PET-positive, conventional-imaging-M0 CRPC; the registry permits PET-only M1 disease8.Active, not recruiting; randomized noncomparative phase 2; actual N=49; no posted outcomes8.
DAROLObservational real-world darolutamide experience may inform delivery, but does not compare agents or establish a new treatment standard9.Peer-reviewed observational interim report9.

Toxicity

Regimen and comparatorTrial-level safety outcomesSelected named toxicitiesCounseling focus
Enzalutamide + ADT versus placebo + ADT, PROSPERGrade ≥3 AEs: 31% vs 23%; discontinuation due to AEs: 9% vs 6%1.Fatigue 33% vs 14%; hypertension 12% vs 5%; falls 11% vs 4%; dizziness 10% vs 4%; falls/nonpathologic fractures combined 17% vs 8%1.Contact oncology for marked fatigue, new dizziness, a fall, possible fracture, or blood-pressure concerns; interruption or discontinuation may be needed1.
Apalutamide + ADT versus placebo + ADT, SPARTANGrade 3–4 AEs: 45.1% vs 34.2%; discontinuation due to AEs: 10.6% vs 7.0%3.Fatigue 30.4% vs 21.1%; hypertension 24.8% vs 19.8%; rash 23.8% vs 5.5%; falls 15.6% vs 9.0%; fracture 11.7% vs 6.5%; hypothyroidism 8.1% vs 2.0%3.Contact oncology for extensive rash, marked fatigue, a fall or suspected fracture, or blood-pressure concerns; treatment interruption or discontinuation may be needed3.
Darolutamide + ADT versus placebo + ADT, ARAMISGrade 3–4 AEs: 24.7% vs 19.5%; discontinuation due to AEs: 8.9% vs 8.7%5.Fatigue 12.1% vs 8.7%; hypertension 6.6% vs 5.2%5.Contact oncology for worsening fatigue, palpitations, chest symptoms, or blood-pressure concerns; treatment interruption or discontinuation may be needed5.

Patient counseling and action plan

  • Contact oncology promptly for a new extensive rash, marked fatigue, a fall or suspected fracture, marked dizziness, new confusion or memory change, palpitations, chest symptoms, or another concerning treatment effect. *** after-hours/urgent-assessment instructions reviewed135.
  • Maintain fall and fracture-risk assessment, blood-pressure monitoring, and thyroid assessment where clinically indicated; treatment holds or discontinuation may be required135.

On-treatment monitoring

SOC/option regimenHallmark monitoring toxicity and published ratePatient action / clinic response
Enzalutamide plus ADTPROSPER: fatigue 33% vs 14%, hypertension 12% vs 5%, falls 11% vs 4%; falls/nonpathologic fractures combined 17% vs 8%1.Monitor blood pressure, falls, dizziness, cognition, and ADT-associated bone/metabolic effects; a fall, suspected fracture, marked dizziness, or chest symptoms needs prompt contact1.
Apalutamide plus ADTSPARTAN: rash 23.8% vs 5.5%, falls 15.6% vs 9.0%, fracture 11.7% vs 6.5%, hypothyroidism 8.1% vs 2.0%3.Monitor skin, thyroid symptoms, blood pressure, falls/fracture risk, and ADT-associated metabolic/bone effects; extensive rash, a fall, suspected fracture, or palpitations needs prompt contact3.
Darolutamide plus ADTARAMIS: fatigue 12.1% vs 8.7% and hypertension 6.6% vs 5.2%5.Monitor fatigue, blood pressure, cardiovascular symptoms, and ADT-associated bone/metabolic effects; chest symptoms, palpitations, or worsening fatigue needs prompt contact5.

Epic phrase

#nmcrpc

  • Counseling: Reviewed high-risk nmCRPC as defined in the pivotal trials: castrate testosterone, no metastases on conventional imaging, and PSA doubling time ≤10 months. PSMA-PET-only disease and PSA doubling time >10 months did not have direct pivotal-trial efficacy estimates.
  • Counseling: In PROSPER, metastasis-free survival was about 37 vs 15 months with placebo (HR 0.29 vs placebo); final median overall survival 67.0 vs 56.3 months with placebo (HR 0.73 vs placebo). SPARTAN apalutamide MFS 40.5 vs 16.2 months with placebo (HR 0.28 vs placebo); final median OS 73.9 vs 59.9 months with placebo (HR 0.78 vs placebo). ARAMIS darolutamide MFS 40.4 vs 18.4 months with placebo (HR 0.41 vs placebo); 3-year OS about 83% vs 77% with placebo (HR 0.69 vs placebo). Trials do not rank agents head-to-head.
  • Counseling: Reviewed surveillance and de-escalation: PSA every 3 months with conventional imaging every 6–12 months; continue ADT plus ARPI until conventional-imaging metastasis or toxicity; PSMA-PET-only disease lacks pivotal efficacy estimates; conventional metastasis → mCRPC pathway.
  • Counseling: Reviewed continued ADT plus apalutamide, enzalutamide, or darolutamide as unranked options. Discussed that each placebo-controlled trial improved metastasis-free survival and final overall-survival measures within its own trial; no head-to-head comparison ranks agents.
  • Counseling: Reviewed sequence: continue ADT → add one ARPI for high-risk conventional-imaging nmCRPC; at conventional-imaging metastatic progression, continue ADT and move to mCRPC sequencing with prior ARPI exposure documented. ***
  • Counseling: Reviewed treatment-specific safety. Enzalutamide counseling includes fatigue, hypertension, dizziness, falls, and fracture risk; apalutamide counseling includes fatigue, hypertension, rash, falls, fractures, and hypothyroidism; darolutamide counseling includes fatigue and hypertension. Treatment interruption or discontinuation may be needed.
  • Counseling: Promptly contact oncology for an extensive rash, marked fatigue, marked dizziness, a fall or suspected fracture, new confusion or memory change, palpitations, chest symptoms, or another concerning treatment effect. *** after-hours/urgent-assessment instructions reviewed.
  • Decision: Continue ADT. *** selects / defers apalutamide / enzalutamide / darolutamide / surveillance / clinical-trial evaluation after shared decision-making.
  • Labs/NGS: Confirmed castrate testosterone *; PSA doubling time *; conventional imaging ***. Monitor blood pressure; obtain thyroid testing when clinically indicated. Molecular testing does not select among these agents.
  • Procedures: *** PSMA PET / conventional imaging surveillance / fall and bone-health assessment planned.
  • Medications: *** continue ADT and start / defer androgen-receptor pathway inhibitor.
  • Referrals: *** endocrinology / cardiology / geriatric or physical-therapy fall assessment / clinical-trial consultation, as indicated.
  • Follow-up: *** PSA, testosterone, toxicity, blood-pressure, fall-risk, and imaging follow-up interval.

Edit markdown

Guideline references

SourceSetting-level reference
NCCN Prostate Cancer, version 7.2026Current US professional guideline reference.
EAU Prostate Cancer guidelineStrong recommendation for continued ADT plus apalutamide, darolutamide, or enzalutamide for the guideline-defined high-risk group.
ESMO Prostate Cancer guideline00042-6/fulltext)Lists the three agents with continued ADT for high-risk nmCRPC (I,A).
AUA/SUO Advanced Prostate Cancer guidelineStrong, Grade A recommendation for continued ADT plus apalutamide, darolutamide, or enzalutamide in high-risk nmCRPC; imaging surveillance language is expert opinion.

Sources

  1. Hussain et al. (2018). Enzalutamide in men with nonmetastatic, castration-resistant prostate cancer. *New England Journal of Medicine*. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa1800536 | PMID: 29949494
  2. Sternberg et al. (2020). Enzalutamide and survival in nonmetastatic, castration-resistant prostate cancer. *New England Journal of Medicine*. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa2003892 | PMID: 32469184
  3. Smith et al. (2018). Apalutamide treatment and metastasis-free survival in prostate cancer. *New England Journal of Medicine*. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa1715546 | PMID: 29420164
  4. Smith et al. (2021). Apalutamide and overall survival in non-metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer. *European Urology*. DOI: 10.1016/j.eururo.2020.08.011 | PMID: 32907777
  5. Fizazi et al. (2019). Darolutamide in nonmetastatic, castration-resistant prostate cancer. *New England Journal of Medicine*. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa1815671 | PMID: 30763142
  6. Fizazi et al. (2020). Nonmetastatic, castration-resistant prostate cancer and survival with darolutamide. *New England Journal of Medicine*. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa2001342 | PMID: 32905676
  7. Fendler et al. (2019). Prostate-specific membrane antigen positron emission tomography in patients with nonmetastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer. *Clinical Cancer Research*. DOI: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-19-1059 | PMID: 31511295
  8. PSMACare registry
  9. Yu et al. (2026). DAROL interim analysis. *The Oncologist*. PMID: 41176520
  10. NCCN Prostate Cancer, version 7.2026
  11. EAU Prostate Cancer guideline
  12. ESMO Prostate Cancer guideline00042-6/fulltext)
  13. AUA/SUO Advanced Prostate Cancer guideline

Changelog

  • 2026-09-22: Explicit Setting×PSA×Imaging surveillance table (PSA q3mo; conventional imaging every 6–12 months; PSADT context); expanded Biomarkers to five-column clinic/emerging format.
  • 2026-09-22: Renamed Upcoming trial results to Upcoming research; reframed for ongoing trials and field direction.
  • 2026-09-22: Named comparator arms in paired dotphrase counseling for efficacy/toxicity rates.
  • 2026-09-22: Added line-level source superscripts ([^n]) linked to numbered Sources.
  • 2026-09-22: Added Surveillance and treatment de-escalation section; strengthened quantified benefit counseling in dotphrase.
  • 2026-09-21: Added nmCRPC sequencing and an explicit all-ARPI on-treatment monitoring table.
  • 2026-09-21: Created a setting-specific high-risk nmCRPC reference with source-verified PROSPER, SPARTAN, and ARAMIS evidence, trial boundaries, toxicity counseling, and an Epic phrase companion.

Edit evidence markdown